EU ESPR compliance platform · Guide for SMEs · Updated September 2026
Digital Product Passport Software for SMEs
Battery passports become mandatory on 18 February 2027, the EU DPP Registry is operational since 20 July 2026, and textiles follow with ESPR delegated acts in late 2027. This guide compares the main DPP software options for SMEs, with verified prices and an honest look at where each platform fits.
Quick summary
SME with batteries or textiles and a small team: start with Hoken Pass free tier, upgrade to Base at 10 EUR per month when SKUs grow.
Enterprise with complex supply chains: evaluate Spherity VERA, Circularise or TrusTrace on a pilot, and budget for data collection separately.
Always verify two things before signing: eIDAS timestamp included, and a concrete path to EU DPP Registry registration.
Battery passports become mandatory on 18 February 2027
Loading countdown…
Source: EU Battery Regulation 2023/1542. EU DPP Registry operational since 20 July 2026.
DPP software compared: prices and trust layers
| Platform | Best for | Starting price | Free tier | eIDAS timestamp | EU Registry path |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hoken Pass | SMEs, batteries and textiles | Free, Base 10 EUR/month | Yes | Included on every passport | One-click readiness |
| Spherity VERA | Enterprise, multi-sector | Quote based | Not disclosed | eIDAS 2.0 wallet support | Declares Registry interoperability |
| Circularise | Batteries, supply chain teams | Quote based | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Governed QR disclosures |
| TrusTrace | Fashion enterprise brands | Pilot based | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | GS1 resolver, 126 data point pilots |
| DPP-Tool | SME self-service | Entry from 29 EUR/month | Up to 5 passports | Not disclosed | QR plus export reports |
Prices verified in September 2026 on vendor sites and may change. Always confirm on the vendor page before deciding. Sources linked in each review below.
How to choose DPP software: 5 checks that matter
- Start from your deadline, not from features. Batteries: 18 February 2027. Textiles: delegated acts in late 2027 with at least 18 months transition. If a vendor cannot name your date, move on.
- Separate the legal layer from the evidence layer. eIDAS timestamp gives legal validity in the EU, blockchain gives immutability for audits. You need the first, the second is a plus. Ask which one is included in the price.
- Demand a concrete EU Registry path. The Registry is operational since 20 July 2026. Ask how identifiers get registered and who does the work: you, or the platform.
- Do the SKU math. Per-passport pricing gets expensive fast with large catalogs, flat monthly plans win for stable assortments. Include data collection cost: supplier evidence and lifecycle analysis usually exceed the software fee.
- Time to first passport beats slide decks. A free tier or pilot that produces a real QR-linked passport this week tells you more than any demo. Hoken Pass and DPP-Tool both let you start without a sales call.
Honest review of each platform
Hoken Pass: the SME fast lane
Guided battery and textile templates, GS1 Digital Link QR, eIDAS timestamp included on every passport, free tier to start and Base at 10 EUR per month. Built for teams that need a compliant passport this week, not an integration project.
Watch out: if you run multi-tier supplier networks across continents with custom ERP flows, an enterprise platform with a dedicated team fits better.
Spherity VERA: the enterprise identity play
Modular DPP with verifiable credentials, eIDAS 2.0 wallet support and Catena-X ecosystem links. Strong on identity and cross-company data exchange, selected by the European Commission for digital identity wallet work. Pricing is quote based.
Watch out: enterprise sales motion and no public pricing, which slows down small teams that want to start today.
Circularise: the battery data foundation
Focused on the hard part of battery passports: supplier evidence collection, chain of custody traceability and governed disclosure that hides sensitive fields. Aligned with the 18 February 2027 deadline. Pricing is quote based.
Watch out: battery specialist, not a fashion or general SME tool, and no self-service entry.
TrusTrace: the fashion traceability leader
End to end supply chain traceability for fashion, with DPP pilots capturing 126 data points, GS1 aligned resolver and recognition in the Gartner Digital Product Passport report of July 2025. Trusted by global brands. Pilot based enterprise pricing.
Watch out: built for large brands with supplier networks, overkill for a small label publishing its first passports.
DPP-Tool: the SME self-service reference
Transparent self-service pricing with a free plan up to 5 passports and entry plans from 29 EUR per month, plus a widely cited cost and comparison guide. A solid benchmark for any SME evaluation.
Watch out: check whether eIDAS timestamp and Registry registration steps are included or handled separately before comparing headline prices.
The cost of waiting for 2027
What waiting costs: estimate your EU revenue at risk
From 18 February 2027, batteries in scope cannot be placed on the EU market without a passport. This estimator multiplies your exposed units by their value. Planning estimate, not legal advice.
Annual EU revenue that needs a passport from 18 February 2027
€150,000
- National fines apply on top: ESPR Article 74 and the Battery Regulation leave penalties to Member States (effective, proportionate, dissuasive), including fines, withdrawal and recall.
- Rushed compliance costs more: published 2026 market data puts SME year-one DPP cost at 348 to 50,000 EUR, with data collection at 10,000 to 80,000 EUR per product category.
- Hoken Pass Base at 10 EUR per month covers the software side from today, so the gap is data collection, not tooling.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Digital Product Passport software cost for an SME?
Self-service plans range from free tiers up to entry plans around 10 to 29 EUR per month. Hoken Pass starts free with Base at 10 EUR per month, DPP-Tool entry starts at 29 EUR per month. Enterprise platforms work on quote or pilot pricing, and data collection usually costs more than the software.
What is the difference between eIDAS timestamp and blockchain in a DPP?
eIDAS timestamp is the legally relevant trust layer in the EU, blockchain is the evidence layer for immutability and audits. Hoken Pass includes the eIDAS timestamp on every passport, Spherity VERA supports eIDAS 2.0 wallets. Ask each vendor which one the price covers.
When is the Digital Product Passport mandatory?
Batteries: 18 February 2027 under EU Regulation 2023/1542. EU DPP Registry operational since 20 July 2026. Textiles, aluminium and tyres: ESPR delegated acts expected in late 2027. Start collecting data months ahead.
Which DPP software should a small fashion or battery brand choose?
Small catalogs with standard templates fit self-service tools like Hoken Pass. Enterprise pilots with deep supplier networks fit TrusTrace for fashion and Circularise for batteries. Match the tool to your catalog size, not to the longest feature list.
What happens if we miss the DPP deadline?
Products in scope cannot be placed on the EU market, and Member States must apply effective, proportionate and dissuasive penalties including fines, withdrawal and recall. Fine amounts differ per country. Use the cost estimator above to size your exposed revenue.
Start with your first passport today
Create a free DPP with eIDAS timestamp, or run the free ESPR checklist to see exactly which data your products need before the 2027 deadlines. New insights every week in the DPP Digest newsletter.
Related: Battery Passport · Fashion DPP · ESPR Compliance · Pricing