EU ESPR compliance platform · Guide for SMEs · Updated September 2026

Digital Product Passport Software for SMEs

Battery passports become mandatory on 18 February 2027, the EU DPP Registry is operational since 20 July 2026, and textiles follow with ESPR delegated acts in late 2027. This guide compares the main DPP software options for SMEs, with verified prices and an honest look at where each platform fits.

Quick summary

SME with batteries or textiles and a small team: start with Hoken Pass free tier, upgrade to Base at 10 EUR per month when SKUs grow.

Enterprise with complex supply chains: evaluate Spherity VERA, Circularise or TrusTrace on a pilot, and budget for data collection separately.

Always verify two things before signing: eIDAS timestamp included, and a concrete path to EU DPP Registry registration.

Battery passports become mandatory on 18 February 2027

Loading countdown…

Source: EU Battery Regulation 2023/1542. EU DPP Registry operational since 20 July 2026.

DPP software compared: prices and trust layers

PlatformBest forStarting priceFree tiereIDAS timestampEU Registry path
Hoken PassSMEs, batteries and textilesFree, Base 10 EUR/monthYesIncluded on every passportOne-click readiness
Spherity VERAEnterprise, multi-sectorQuote basedNot disclosedeIDAS 2.0 wallet supportDeclares Registry interoperability
CirculariseBatteries, supply chain teamsQuote basedNot disclosedNot disclosedGoverned QR disclosures
TrusTraceFashion enterprise brandsPilot basedNot disclosedNot disclosedGS1 resolver, 126 data point pilots
DPP-ToolSME self-serviceEntry from 29 EUR/monthUp to 5 passportsNot disclosedQR plus export reports

Prices verified in September 2026 on vendor sites and may change. Always confirm on the vendor page before deciding. Sources linked in each review below.

How to choose DPP software: 5 checks that matter

  1. Start from your deadline, not from features. Batteries: 18 February 2027. Textiles: delegated acts in late 2027 with at least 18 months transition. If a vendor cannot name your date, move on.
  2. Separate the legal layer from the evidence layer. eIDAS timestamp gives legal validity in the EU, blockchain gives immutability for audits. You need the first, the second is a plus. Ask which one is included in the price.
  3. Demand a concrete EU Registry path. The Registry is operational since 20 July 2026. Ask how identifiers get registered and who does the work: you, or the platform.
  4. Do the SKU math. Per-passport pricing gets expensive fast with large catalogs, flat monthly plans win for stable assortments. Include data collection cost: supplier evidence and lifecycle analysis usually exceed the software fee.
  5. Time to first passport beats slide decks. A free tier or pilot that produces a real QR-linked passport this week tells you more than any demo. Hoken Pass and DPP-Tool both let you start without a sales call.

Honest review of each platform

Hoken Pass: the SME fast lane

Guided battery and textile templates, GS1 Digital Link QR, eIDAS timestamp included on every passport, free tier to start and Base at 10 EUR per month. Built for teams that need a compliant passport this week, not an integration project.

Watch out: if you run multi-tier supplier networks across continents with custom ERP flows, an enterprise platform with a dedicated team fits better.

See Hoken Pass pricing

Spherity VERA: the enterprise identity play

Modular DPP with verifiable credentials, eIDAS 2.0 wallet support and Catena-X ecosystem links. Strong on identity and cross-company data exchange, selected by the European Commission for digital identity wallet work. Pricing is quote based.

Watch out: enterprise sales motion and no public pricing, which slows down small teams that want to start today.

Spherity DPP page

Circularise: the battery data foundation

Focused on the hard part of battery passports: supplier evidence collection, chain of custody traceability and governed disclosure that hides sensitive fields. Aligned with the 18 February 2027 deadline. Pricing is quote based.

Watch out: battery specialist, not a fashion or general SME tool, and no self-service entry.

Circularise battery passport page

TrusTrace: the fashion traceability leader

End to end supply chain traceability for fashion, with DPP pilots capturing 126 data points, GS1 aligned resolver and recognition in the Gartner Digital Product Passport report of July 2025. Trusted by global brands. Pilot based enterprise pricing.

Watch out: built for large brands with supplier networks, overkill for a small label publishing its first passports.

TrusTrace DPP page

DPP-Tool: the SME self-service reference

Transparent self-service pricing with a free plan up to 5 passports and entry plans from 29 EUR per month, plus a widely cited cost and comparison guide. A solid benchmark for any SME evaluation.

Watch out: check whether eIDAS timestamp and Registry registration steps are included or handled separately before comparing headline prices.

DPP-Tool pricing page

The cost of waiting for 2027

What waiting costs: estimate your EU revenue at risk

From 18 February 2027, batteries in scope cannot be placed on the EU market without a passport. This estimator multiplies your exposed units by their value. Planning estimate, not legal advice.

Annual EU revenue that needs a passport from 18 February 2027

€150,000

  • National fines apply on top: ESPR Article 74 and the Battery Regulation leave penalties to Member States (effective, proportionate, dissuasive), including fines, withdrawal and recall.
  • Rushed compliance costs more: published 2026 market data puts SME year-one DPP cost at 348 to 50,000 EUR, with data collection at 10,000 to 80,000 EUR per product category.
  • Hoken Pass Base at 10 EUR per month covers the software side from today, so the gap is data collection, not tooling.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Digital Product Passport software cost for an SME?

Self-service plans range from free tiers up to entry plans around 10 to 29 EUR per month. Hoken Pass starts free with Base at 10 EUR per month, DPP-Tool entry starts at 29 EUR per month. Enterprise platforms work on quote or pilot pricing, and data collection usually costs more than the software.

What is the difference between eIDAS timestamp and blockchain in a DPP?

eIDAS timestamp is the legally relevant trust layer in the EU, blockchain is the evidence layer for immutability and audits. Hoken Pass includes the eIDAS timestamp on every passport, Spherity VERA supports eIDAS 2.0 wallets. Ask each vendor which one the price covers.

When is the Digital Product Passport mandatory?

Batteries: 18 February 2027 under EU Regulation 2023/1542. EU DPP Registry operational since 20 July 2026. Textiles, aluminium and tyres: ESPR delegated acts expected in late 2027. Start collecting data months ahead.

Which DPP software should a small fashion or battery brand choose?

Small catalogs with standard templates fit self-service tools like Hoken Pass. Enterprise pilots with deep supplier networks fit TrusTrace for fashion and Circularise for batteries. Match the tool to your catalog size, not to the longest feature list.

What happens if we miss the DPP deadline?

Products in scope cannot be placed on the EU market, and Member States must apply effective, proportionate and dissuasive penalties including fines, withdrawal and recall. Fine amounts differ per country. Use the cost estimator above to size your exposed revenue.

Start with your first passport today

Create a free DPP with eIDAS timestamp, or run the free ESPR checklist to see exactly which data your products need before the 2027 deadlines. New insights every week in the DPP Digest newsletter.

Related: Battery Passport · Fashion DPP · ESPR Compliance · Pricing